Mordechai Rothschild receives 2015 Edwin H. Land Medal


Dr. Mordechai Rothschild, leader of the Chemical, Microsystem, and Nanoscale Technologies Group at MIT Lincoln Laboratory, was named one of three 2015 recipients of the Edwin H. Land Medal. Given jointly by The Optical Society (OSA) and the Society for Imaging Science and Technology (IS&T), the medal annually recognizes individuals with a curiosity in optics and imaging who have pursued pioneering research to create inventions, technologies, and products. Recipients of the award share Land’s insatiable scientific intensity and, in part, reflect his life as an inventor, a scientist, an entrepreneur, and a teacher. Dr. Rothschild was recognized for his "contributions to the excimer laser ArF [argon fluoride] and modern deep UV [ultraviolet] photolithography for the semiconductor industry."

Mordechai Rothschild is a 2015 recipient of the Edwin H. Land Medal.Dr. Mordechai Rothschild (right), pictured with OSA vice president Dr. Eric Mazur, received the 2015 Edwin H. Land Medal at an award ceremony on 20 October.

Since joining Lincoln Laboratory in 1984, Dr. Rothschild has primarily been involved in the development of advanced lithography technologies, including 193 nm and liquid-immersion lithography. Much of the Laboratory’s seminal work in 193 nm lithography was led by Dr. Rothschild, who focused on improving the performance of optical materials, optical coatings, and pellicles. In collaboration with industry, he led efforts to extend lithographic techniques to smaller dimensions than those possible with 193 nm and explored how to improve the resolution of optical lithography through liquid immersion at 157 and 193 nm. Liquid immersion lithography at 193 nm has been embraced by the industry, and today the majority of advanced semiconductor lithography worldwide utilizes 193 nm.

Currently, Dr. Rothschild leads programs in metamaterials, microfluidics, microsystems, and nanofabrication. Recent activities include the development of nanoplasmonic devices for applications in optical limiting, energy harvesting, and chemical sensing and of multifunctional microsystems combining optics, mechanics, and microfluidics.

Dr. Rothschild is the co-inventor of 13 patented technologies and has authored or coauthored more than 180 papers and conference proceedings in the fields of photochemistry, spectroscopy, lithography, nanodevices, and chemical detection. He was a cochair of the 2012 Lithography Workshop and is a member of the program committee of the International Conference on Electron, Ion, and Photon Beam Technology and Nanofabrication. In 2014, he received the Frits Zernike Award for Microlithography for “contributions made to the advancement of lithography through exploration and demonstration of DUV/VUV [deep ultraviolet/vacuum ultraviolet] materials, lasers, and systems.” Dr. Rothschild holds a bachelor’s degree in physics from Bar-Ilan University and a doctorate in optics from the University of Rochester.

On 20 October, Dr. Rothschild and corecipients Dr. Joseph Mangano of the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA) and Dr. David C. Shaver, a head of Lincoln Laboratory’s Advanced Technology Division who is currently serving an Intergovernmental Personnel Act assignment at DARPA, received their medals at an award ceremony held during OSA’s Frontiers in Optics Annual Meeting. "I am deeply honored and humbled to be selected as a recipient of the 2015 Edwin H. Land Medal. It has been a highly rewarding experience to contribute my share to the development of 193 nm lithography from its very early stage as a laboratory curiosity to its present status of leading high-volume manufacturing processes," said Dr. Rothschild.

The Edwin H. Land Medal was established in 1992 by OSA and IS&T to honor Edwin H. Land and to recognize his unique career as a scientist, a technologist, an industrialist, a humanist, and a public servant. Land is best known for his invention of the Polaroid camera.   

Posted November 2015

top of page